Book Reviews

Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | Book Review

Title: Killer Instinct

Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Series: The Naturals #2

Genre: Contemporary, Mystery/Thrillers, Young Adult, Romance

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Publication date: November 4th, 2014

Pages: 375

My ratingIMG_0192


IMG_0213

Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father—a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?

IMG_0214

"Her body goes slack. You pull her into the backseat and reach for the ties.

Bind them. Brand them. Cut them. Hang them.

It has begun."

THIS BOOK WAS FREAKING SPECTACULAR AND I CAN SAY NOW I'M OBSESSED WITH THIS SERIES. For real. No joke. I adored each single page of this novel, and I declare myself a fan.

I've started this series not long ago, and posted a review of The Naturals last month I believe, saying how much I enjoyed the story and the characters, so I was going into this one with pretty high expectations, but it surprised me. It was even better than the first book. And I wasn't expect it to love it as much as I did.

"You can decieve people without lying. Liars are like magicians: while you're watching the beautiful assistant, they're slipping the rabbit out of a sleeve."

The story got even more intricate, and being the second book in a series, you already know the characters a bit more. I really liked their development throughout the story, and how everything was more complex. You got to see some character's back story (Dean, my baby!). I still love all of them so much, but I loved to see more about their pasts (I think we will be seeing more in the next installments) and how the started to form a friendship.

AND THOSE ANGSTY RELATIONSHIPS, GUYS. You know how I live for those! And boy, oh boy, didn't I have a great time reading this book? The thing is, I love all the characters the same, so I suffered along them. But I enjoyed all those situations so much, so I expect to see them in the sequel as well!

I also liked how it kept adding those "YOU" chapters, where basically you got to know the perspective of the killer and how that person planned each murdered or the reason why. They added something different and more unique to the story, and I enjoyed getting to know the whys and how's.

"There was an intimate connection between the killer and the person they'd killed.  Bodies were like messages, full of symbolic meanings that only a person who understood the needs and desires and rage that went into snuffing out another life could fully decode."

There were some unexpected twists in the story, and I LOVED how they surprised me, because usually when it comes to thrillers, plot twists don't do anything to me since I knew them much before it's actually revealed, so I very much enjoyed being played. I have to say there were some things I guessed right, but I didn't know why, so extra kudos to that!

They are very addicting books as well, let me tell you. I flew through both of the installments, and I was craving MORE of those characters and story. They are very fast and quick reads that don't require you a lot of concentration, so it's pretty easy to finish them.

I totally recommend the series if you're interested in the premise, because you won't regret it! I'll be probably reading and reviewing the third one soon, because I CAN'T GET ENOUGH.

IMG_0212

Follow me on BlogLovin’

Goodreads Instagram Twitter | Contact Me

img_0224-1

2 thoughts on “Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | Book Review”

Leave a Reply

