Book Reviews, TAG

Anastasia The Musical | Original Book Tag

Hello bookworms! Today I’m Nia and today I’m going to be bringing you an original tag!

This is my first attempt at creating a tag, but if for the ones of you who don’t know, I’m really obsessed with the soundtrack of the musical Anastasia. It was my favourite movie when I was a kid, and now that there’s a Broadway production broadcasting it, I would love to see it as well. Buut… since I can’t I’m going to be doing this tag. I’ve been listening to the soundtrack non-stop and when the idea came to my mind I said to myself “WHY NOT?“. So here we are today.

If you liked this tag and want to do it too in your blog, books amino page, wherever… FEEL FREE TO DO IT! You’re tagged. But please credit me (I spend a fair amount of time thinking about those questions!)

Without any further ado, let’s start with the tag!

IMG_0215

 

A RUMOUR IN ST. PETERSBURG

An author you desperately need to publish another book/series

My thoughts: Mmm… this is a tough one because I’d love to see my favourite authors publish more books! It’d be amazing, to be honest. But I chose Abigail Haas and Jennifer Lynn Barnes because those both authors have only published two book/series and I loved those books, and I really need them to write another mystery/thriller book, series or trilogy, I don’t mind!

 

IN MY DREAMS

A character whose path isn’t easy overcomes with everything

29102896

My thoughts: I’d go with Grace. She hasn’t had a really good life, in fact, the book was very painful and tough to read. I loved it because Grace’s a very strong character whom you definitely connect with, and she loves musicals. She’s gone trough so much but somehow you see the evolution of her character throughout the story. And I really loved that. I have a review here.

Synopsis

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it’s too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she’s unable to escape. 

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

 

LEARN TO DO IT

A book/series that change your perspective over something./A book/series that taught you something

271906131

My thoughts: Before reading these books I literally had no idea of anything related to the Ottoman empire (well.. I knew what they taught me at school, but it wasn’t very much), but while reading it I felt like I was learning something, not only because the things that happened were based on true events, but because they way it happened and how policital all felt. It was super weird, but once I got used to I really started to enjoy it. You can see the review I did here.

Synopsis

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

 

THE NEVA FLOWS

A book/series where a character fights the system

23437156

My thoughts: If you’ve been on my goodreads or this blog before you might know how much I loved this book and how intricate everything was, but I think my favourite were those characters. They are all fellons or misfits that somehow fit so well together and take care of each other, and of course, fights the law and the system. And Crooked Kingdom had one of my favourite endings and is one of my favourite books.

Synopsis

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

 

MY PETERSBURG

A world in a book/series you’ve read that you absolutely love 

77493_original

My thoughts: I adored this world so much! But I have to say my favourite place was the Night Court (I think it’s everyone’s!). It felt so whimsical and being the night owl that I am, I felt so connected to those places. But yeah, I could read tons of books based on that world, and see where it all ends. I have a review of ACOMAF in case you’re interested!

Synopsis

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

 

ONCE UPON A DECEMBER

A book you wish you could read again for the first time /A book you need to re-read

order-of-the-phoenix-childrens-edition

My thoughts: To be completely honest… I’d love to read Harry Potter again without knowing ANYTHING about the story. It’s such a worldwide known story that even though you haven’t read the books you know what the story’s about or who are those characters. So I’d love to dive into those books again and re-discover everything for the first time.

Synopsis

Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.

Though Harry’s first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it’s his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.

 

STAY, I PRAY YOU

A character you wish were alive 

17675462

My thoughts: It’s no spoiler so you can keep reading but I’d love to see Noah alive! I adored him reading the books and he’s such a cutie pie he deserves to feel alive as well! And be happy. Honestly, he deserves better.

Synopsis

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

STILL

A character you didn’t want to like but still did anyway./Your favourite antihero

vicious_victonagi_v-e-schwab

My thoughts:  The thing is… I love villains and antiheros. They are such a great adition to a story I can’t help but fall in love with them. And what I loved most about this book is that there was a very fine line surrounding both good and evil, and how both main characters thought they were the hero of the story. It was a very interesting book and I’m super excited to hear Victoria Schwab’s going to be writing a second installment!

Synopsis

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

 

JOURNEY TO THE PAST

Your favourite book when you were a children

I honestly don’t know. I have to say that I really didn’t get too interesting in reading until I was older, so if I had a favourite book, I can’t remember. I really liked Kika Superwitch and Geronimo Stilton, and I remember I really enjoyed reading them. So.. maybe those were my favourites? I have no idea.

 

PARIS HOLDS THE KEY (TO YOUR HEART)

Your favourite trope. /A favourite guilty pleassure book 

My thoughts: A guilty pleassure of mine would always be New Adult. I love the genre. I have so much fun reading those books and usually read them when I’m in a reading slump or need something quick and easy to read. And for the trope… you got me: hate to love romances (nothing new, right?).

And The Deal is one of my favourites. It’s so tropy, but I laughed out loud reading it, and definitely plan on re-reading it soon. I don’t know, it was so much fun.

Synopsis

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice…even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cockycaptain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him. 

 

IN A CROWD OF THOUSANDS

Your favourite book/series of all time

9361589

My thoughts: You’ll probably guess right. I adore this book. The story, the characters, the writing… everything. It’s a very whimsical novel and I loved how lyrical everything seemed, and how at the beginning you knew nothing and were confused about all those characters but suddenly something happened and everything started to click, like a domino. I totally recommend it!

Synopsis

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. 

Within these nocturnal black-and-white striped tents awaits an utterly unique, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air. 

Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves. 

Beyond the smoke and mirrors, however, a fierce competition is under way–a contest between two young illusionists, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood to compete in a “game” to which they have been irrevocably bound by their mercurial masters. Unbeknownst to the players, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. 

As the circus travels around the world, the feats of magic gain fantastical new heights with every stop. The game is well under way and the lives of all those involved–the eccentric circus owner, the elusive contortionist, the mystical fortune-teller, and a pair of red-headed twins born backstage among them–are swept up in a wake of spells and charms. 

But when Celia discovers that Marco is her adversary, they begin to think of the game not as a competition but as a wonderful collaboration. With no knowledge of how the game must end, they innocently tumble headfirst into love. A deep, passionate, and magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands. 

Their masters still pull the strings, however, and this unforeseen occurrence forces them to intervene with dangerous consequences, leaving the lives of everyone from the performers to the patrons hanging in the balance.

 

MEANT TO BE

A relatable character./A character who you feel is just like you

My thoughts: This was a recent book I’ve read and I adored it! The characters seemed so relatable to me and the story… everything was gorgeous. Eliza was such an interesting character and felt so real that I was so surprised. It totally deserves all the hype it has! I have a review here.

Synopsis

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, she’s LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves the online one, and she has no desire to try.

Then Wallace Warland, Monstrous Sea’s biggest fanfiction writer, transfers to her school. Wallace thinks Eliza is just another fan, and as he draws her out of her shell, she begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile.

But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

 

EVERYTHING TO WIN

Your favourite fairtytale 

y450-293

My thoughts: I love fairytales and retellings and anything related to that. I always like to discover more, and I found this particular book to be my favourite of all fairytales. It had russian folklore, a slow burning romance, and amazing characters, and even though it was quite slow, it was so woth it. You can see the review I did here.

Synopsis

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them. 

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance. 

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

IMG_0211

Let me know if you liked this tag and feel free to do it as well with your own answers! I’m dying to know your answers!

IMG_0212

Follow me on BlogLovin’

Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Contact Me

img_0224-1

17 thoughts on “Anastasia The Musical | Original Book Tag”

Leave a comment